Competency-Based Training & Assessment

From the beginning, Saic Professional Training Center (SPTC) provides various types of skills training with CBT&A method. SPTC is an RTO center under Bangladesh Technical Education Board (BTEB). SPTC also has accreditation of RPL.

TVET (Technical and Vocational Education and Training) is education and training which provides knowledge and skills for employment. TVET uses formalnon-formal and informal learning. TVET is recognized to be a crucial vehicle for social equity, inclusion and sustainable development.

Competency-based training is an approach to learning where the emphasis is placed on what a learner can do in the workplace as a result of their training. Competency-based training is usually based on performance standards that have been set by the industry. Competency-based assessment materials are designed to ensure that each learner has achieved all the outcomes (skills and knowledge) required by each unit of competency.

In order for the goals established in the NSDP to be realized, a number of new systems and initiatives have been developed and are being introduced in Bangladesh. This manual focuses on three of these initiatives:

  • National Technical and Vocational Qualifications Framework (NTVQF);
  • Competency Standards; and
  • Competency-Based Training and Assessment Delivery System.

The NTVQF is a comprehensive, yet flexible framework for all qualifications in the skills development system. It describes qualification in eight levels ranging from Pre-Vocational Level 1 to NTVQF Level 6.

Qualification Levels

The NTVQF introduces the concept of pre-vocational levels to the skills development system in Bangladesh. These levels not only open up additional career pathways for students pursuing general education but also address the needs of underprivileged groups and individuals with low levels of education. Previously, individuals without a Grade 8 or above level of education were not able to access the formal skills development system as they did not meet the prerequisite education level. With the introduction of pre-vocational levels, they now have a pathway to enter formal training.

The NTVQF also includes five vocational levels as well as one for diploma level qualification, as shown below:

NTVQ Level Pre-Vocation Education Vocational Education Technical Education Job Classification
NTVQ 6 Diploma in Engineering or equivalent Middle Level
Manager/ Sub
Assistant engineer.
NTVQ 5 National Skill

Certificate 5 (NSC 5)

Highly Skilled
Worker/ Supervisor
NTVQ 4 National Skill
Certificate 4 (NSC 4)
Skilled Worker
NTVQ 3 National Skill
Certificate 3 (NSC 3)
Semi-Skilled Worker
NTVQ 2 National Skill
Certificate 2 (NSC 2)
Basic-Skilled Worker
NTVQ 1 National Skill
Certificate 1 (NSC 1)
Basic Worker
Pre-Voc 2 National Pre-Vocation
Certificate 2  (NPVC 2)
Pre-Vocation Trainee
Pre-Voc 1 National Pre-Vocation
Certificate 1 (NPVC 1)
Pre-Vocation Trainee


Our Training:

Course Name Necessary qualifications
NTVQF Level-IV (Trainer & Assessor) Competent in any occupation NTVQF skill Level-1.
Experience in relevant trade / graduate in Diploma in Engineering.
NTVQF Level-IV (Assessor) Competent in any occupation NTVQF skill Level-1.
Experience in relevant trade / graduate in Diploma in Engineering/ HSC pass
NTVQF skill Level-1 & 2 RPL assessment  in the following occupations-
EIM ,SMO ,PPF, Welding, IT Support, Web development, Graphics Design, Masonry, Rod binding, Tiles work & Marble Fittings etc.
Recognition of prior Learning(RPL) 2 years industrial work experience in any occupation.
Reading & writing skills in Bangla, English.